From chocolate to a strong brand: Tony’s Cocolonely – 100% free from modern slavery

01. May 2022

Tony's Chocolonely

The pandemic has heightened our awareness of sustainability. Many brands have also recognized this for themselves and have launched corresponding advertising campaigns. Planting trees and climate neutrality par excellence. Consumers quickly expose such actions that do not come from genuine conviction. One thing in advance: sustainability is much more than renewable raw materials. Rather, sustainability – in accordance with the Sustainable Development Goals defined by the United Nations – encompasses not only the ecological but also the social and economic pillars.

Sustainable Development Goals (SDG)

The 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are political targets set by the United Nations to ensure sustainable development at the economic, social and environmental levels worldwide.

Pioneer in sustainability

One brand that doesn’t plant trees, yet is considered a sustainable pioneer, is Tony’s Chocolonely.

The brand was founded in 2005 by Dutch journalist Teun van de Keuken with a clear goal: To make chocolate 100% free from modern slavery. Not just our own, but any chocolate around the world. The main problem: the farmers earn so little from the cocoa bean trade that they see no other way than to exploit people themselves. To this end, the brand has set five clear principles from its core purpose that guide its actions and ensure that slave-free chocolate is possible.

 

The five principles of Tony’s Chocolonely

  1. Traceable bean origin: The origin of each cocoa bean is traceable
  2. Higher prices for farmers: The brand pays farmers more, based on the Living Income Reference Price developed with Fair Trade to secure farmers’ livelihoods
  3. Strong farmers: Tonys Chocolonelies supports farmers to organize into cooperatives and act as one
  4. Long-term partnerships with farmers: Contrary to the norm, farmers receive long-term contracts with price and purchase guarantees, enabling them to plan for the long term.
  5. Better quality and productivity: the brand trains farmers to work more efficiently and thus more profitably

Strong brand with a clear stance

All Tony’s Chocolonelies actions are derived directly from the brand’s identity and pay into the core purpose of “slave-free chocolate.” Thanks to the transparency created and the clear positioning, the brand manages to push through higher prices at retail than Milka or Rittersport, for example.

But how does Tony’s Chololonely manage to convey this identity to the consumer? Firstly, through the high level of transparency in its own communications and the “Tony’s Open Chain” initiative. This supports other chocolate manufacturers to join the principles of Tony’s Chocolonely. But the brand also makes its identity felt through the products. The boards, unlike usual, have pieces of different sizes. Because in the chocolate market, the shares of the profits are also unfairly distributed.

And with this clear attitude, Tony’s Chocolonely has managed to become one of the most successful chocolate manufacturers in the Netherlands and has successfully expanded into neighboring countries. In the meantime, the chocolate can also be found in German supermarkets.

What do we learn from this?

To be truly credibly sustainable, actionism is not enough. The sustainable pioneers of our time show that a clear positioning on sustainability is the path to success – putting sustainability at the core of one’s own organization. Ask yourself: what sustainable difference can you make with your organization? Think about all three pillars of sustainability.

Bildquelle: Rodrigo Flores on Unsplash; www.tonyschocolonely.com; www.youtube.com/watch?v=nqG4N27UHNk; www.youtube.com/watch?v=nqG4N27UHNk

Deeper insights into the “Tony’s Chocolonely” brand

Tony's Chocolonely

Immerse yourself in ID Sustainability Brand

ID Sustainability strategy

MarkenPraxis Blog

Peak Performer Kids Camps Lower Franconia and Upper Bavaria: A Review

Peak Performer Kids Camps Lower Franconia and Upper Bavaria: A Review

We are committed to the Peak Performer Foundation for fostering the next generation of peak performers. In the Kids Camps, children and adolescents learn the joy of performing – through games, fun, and real role models. Christopher Spall actively supports the foundation as its Managing Director.

Your journey to a distinctive brand starts here

Consent Management Platform by Real Cookie Banner

Von der Schokolade zur starken Marke: Tony’s Cocolonely – 100 % frei von moderner Sklaverei

01. Mai 2022

Tony's Chocolonely

Die Pandemie hat unser Bewusstsein für Nachhaltigkeit geschärft. Das haben auch viele Marken für sich erkannt und haben entsprechende Werbekampagnen gestartet. Bäume Pflanzen und Klimaneutralität par excellence. Verbraucher enttarnen solche Aktionen, die nicht aus echter Überzeugung stammen, schnell.  Eines vorweg: Nachhaltigkeit ist viel mehr als nachwachsende Rohstoffe. Vielmehr umfasst Nachhaltigkeit – gemäß der von den Vereinten Nationen definierten Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung – neben der ökologischen auch die soziale und die ökonomische Säule. 

Sustainable Development Goals (SDG)

Die 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung sind politische Zielsetzungen der Vereinten Nationen, die weltweit der Sicherung einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung auf ökonomischer, sozialer sowie ökologischer Ebene dienen sollen. 

Vorreiter in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit

Eine Marke, die keine Bäume pflanzt, und trotzdem als nachhaltiger Vorreiter gilt, ist Tony’s Chocolonely.

Die Marke wurde 2005 vom holländischen Journalisten Teun van de Keuken mit einem klaren Ziel gegründet: Schokolade 100% frei von moderner Sklaverei zu machen. Nicht nur die eigene, sondern jede Schokolade weltweit. Das Hauptproblem: die Farmer verdienen so wenig mit dem Kakaobohnen-Handel, dass sie keinen anderen Weg sehen, als selbst Menschen auszubeuten. Dazu hat sich die Marke aus ihrem Kernzweck heraus fünf klare Prinzipien gesetzt, die ihr Handeln lenken und dafür sorgen, sklavenfreie Schokolade zu ermöglichen. 

 

Die fünf Prinzipien von Tony’s Chocolonely

  1. Nachvollziehbare Bohnenherkunft: Die Herkunft jeder Kakaobohne ist nachvollziehbar
  2. Höhere Preise für Farmer: Die Marke zahlt Farmern mehr, basierend auf dem mit Fair Trade entwickelten „Living Income Reference Price“, der Lebensunterhalt der Farmer sichern soll
  3. Starke Farmer: Tonys Chocolonelies unterstützt Farmer, sich in Genossenschaften zu organisieren und als Einheit aufzutreten
  4. Langfristige Partnerschaften mit Farmern: Farmer erhalten, entgegen der Norm, langfristige Verträge mit Preis- und Abnahmegarantien, sodass sie langfristig planen können
  5. Bessere Qualität und Produktivität: Die Marke schult die Farmer, effizienter und somit profitabler zu arbeiten

Starke Marke mit klarer Haltung

Alle Aktionen von Tony’s Chocolonelies sind direkt aus der Identität der Marke abgeleitet und zahlen auf den Kernzweck „sklavenfreie Schokolade“ ein. Durch die geschaffene Transparenz und die klare Positionierung schafft es die Marke, höhere Preise im Einzelhandel durchzusetzen als beispielsweise Milka oder Rittersport.

Doch wie schafft es Tony’s Chololonely, diese Identität dem Verbraucher zu vermitteln? Zum einen durch die hohe Transparenz in der eigenen Kommunikation und die Initiative „Tony’s Open Chain“. Diese unterstützt andere Schokoladenhersteller dabei, sich den Prinzipien von Tony’s Chocolonely anzuschließen. Aber auch durch die Produkte macht die Marke ihre Identität spürbar. Die Tafeln haben, anders als üblich, unterschiedlich große Stücke. Denn im Schokoladenmarkt sind die Anteile am Gewinn ebenfalls unfair verteilt.

Und mit dieser klaren Haltung hat es Tony’s Chocolonely geschafft, zu einem der erfolgreichsten Schokoladenherstellern der Niederlande zu werden und erfolgreich in die Nachbarländer zu expandieren. Mittlerweile findet man die Schokolade auch in deutschen Supermärkten.

Was lernen wir daraus?

Um wirklich glaubhaft nachhaltig zu sein, reicht Aktionismus nicht. Die nachhaltigen Vorreiter unserer Zeit zeigen, dass eine klare Positionierung auf Nachhaltigkeit der Weg zum Erfolg ist- Nachhaltigkeit in den Kern der eigenen Organisation stellen. Fragen Sie sich: Welchen nachhaltigen Unterschied können Sie mit Ihrer Organisation machen? Denken Sie dabei an alle drei Säulen der Nachhaltigkeit.

Bildquelle: Rodrigo Flores on Unsplash; www.tonyschocolonely.com; www.youtube.com/watch?v=nqG4N27UHNk; www.youtube.com/watch?v=nqG4N27UHNk

Tiefere Einblicke in die Marke „Tony’s Chocolonely“

Tony's Chocolonely

Eintauchen in ID Nachhaltigkeitsmarke

ID Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie

MarkenPraxis Blog

Peak Performer Kids Camps Unterfranken und Oberbayern: Rückblick

Peak Performer Kids Camps Unterfranken und Oberbayern: Rückblick

Wir engagieren uns für die Peak Performer Stiftung zur Förderung der Spitzenleister von morgen. In den Kids Camps wird Kindern und Jugendlichen die Freude am Leisten vermittelt – mit Spiel, Spaß und echten Vorbildern. Christopher Spall unterstützt die Stiftung aktiv als Geschäftsführer.

Ihr Weg zur unverwechselbaren Marke beginnt hier

Consent Management Platform von Real Cookie Banner